State House
New Jersey Legislature
News from around the state
Executive Branch | Judicial Branch | Downloads | Welcome to the State House | Información en Español
site map
what's new
contact us



Our Legislature
Legislative Process
Historical Info
Public Info Assistance
State House Tours

Find your Legislator
Legislative Leadership
Legislative Roster
Seating Charts

Districts by Number
District Map
Municipalities Index

Senate Committees
  - Committee Aides
Assembly Committees
  -Committee Aides
Joint Committees
Committee Groups

Senate Nominations

Laws and Constitution
Chapter Laws

General Assembly

Conflicts of Interest

Code Of Ethics
Financial Disclosure
  Termination or
    Assumption of
    Public Employment

Formal Advisory Opinions
Contract Awards
Joint Rule 19
Ethics Tutorial
  New Jersey Legislature
   and Anti-Harassment Policy

Continuing Legal Education
CLE Registration

Certification for
    CLE Ethics Credit

CLE Presentation

Legislative Publications
Legislative Calendar
Legislative Digest
Legislative LDOA
Budget and Finance
Audit Reports
Legislative Reports
Public Hearing

Summary of

  Privacy Policy

Open Public Records Act
Submit an OPRA request

vertical line

Legislative Commissions


Overview of the Commission and its Work
The New Jersey Law Revision Commission was created in 1985 by the New Jersey Legislature. The Commission was given the responsibility to review the New Jersey statutes and to recommend changes to improve and modernize the statutory law. See P.L.1985, c.498, N.J.S.A. 1:12A-1 et seq.The Commission fulfills this mandate through annual and periodic reports to the Legislature containing recommendations for the adoption, repeal and amendment of statutes.
Predecessor Commissions
The Commission became operational in 1986; however, the concept of permanent, institutionalized statutory revision and codification is not new in New Jersey The first Law Revision Commission was established in 1925. That commission produced the Revised Statutes of 1937. The intent of the Legislature was that the work of revision and codification continue after the Revised Statutes, so the Law Revision Commission continued in operation. After 1939, its functions passed to a number of successor agencies. Most recently, statutory revision and codification were among the duties of Legislative Counsel (N.J.S.A. 52:11-61). By 1985, c.498, the Legislature transferred the functions of statutory revision and codification to the New Jersey Law Revision Commission.
How the Commission Operates
The Commission considers suggestions for revision projects from legislators, the commissioners themselves, staff, members of the legal community and the public. Once a project is assigned, staff members commence research and prepare memoranda on issues to be presented to the commissioners. Research may include conventional legal research on cases and statutes, as well as interviews with members of the legal community, persons in government, or any other parties who may have information relevant to the particular subject matter. When preliminary drafting and redrafting is complete, the commissioners may approve a "tentative report" for formal circulation to the public for comment. Depending upon the project, a second or third "tentative report" may be issued for comment prior to the approval of a "final report" which is formally submitted to the Legislature.
Commissioners and Staff

The Commission consists of four appointed attorney members, the deans of New Jersey's three ABA-approved law schools, and the chairs of the Judiciary Committees in the State Senate and State Assembly.
Currently the commissioners are:

  • Andrew O. Bunn, Attorney at Law, Florham Park, N.J.
  • Vito A. Gagliardi, Jr., Attorney at Law, Morristown, N.J.
  • Justice Virginia A. Long, Princeton, N.J
  • Louis N. Rainone, Middletown, NJ
  • David Lopez, Co-Dean, Rutgers University School of Law, Newark
  • Kimberly Mutcherson, Co-Dean, Rutgers University School of Law, Camden
  • Kathleen M. Boozang, Dean, Seton Hall University School of Law
  • Nicholas P. Scutari Chair, Senate Judiciary Committee
  • Annette Quijano Chair, Assembly Judiciary Committee
Dean Boozang is represented by Professor John K. Cornwell of Seton Hall University School of Law; Co-Dean Mutcherson is represented by Grace Bertone, Attorney at Law, Hasbrouck Heights, N.J.; and Co-Dean Lopez is represented by Professor Bernard Bell.

The Staff includes:

The New Jersey Uniform Law Commissioners are: Barry Evenchick, Joseph Donegan and Daniel O'Hern.

 New Jersey Law Revision Commission Homepage





  home | back


Document Formats Used on this Siteemail for Legislative infoemail Webmaster
©2018 New Jersey Office of Legislative Services