State House
New Jersey Legislature
News from around the state
Executive Branch | Judicial Branch | Downloads | Welcome to the State House | Información en Español
site map
what's new
contact us



Our Legislature
Legislative Process
Historical Info
Public Info Assistance
State House Tours

Find your Legislator
Legislative Leadership
Legislative Roster
Seating Charts

Districts by Number
District Map
Municipalities Index

Senate Committees
  - Committee Aides
Assembly Committees
  -Committee Aides
Joint Committees
Committee Groups

Senate Nominations

Laws and Constitution
Chapter Laws

General Assembly

Conflicts of Interest

Code Of Ethics
Financial Disclosure
  Termination or
    Assumption of
    Public Employment

Formal Advisory Opinions
Contract Awards
Joint Rule 19
Ethics Tutorial
  New Jersey Legislature
   and Anti-Harassment Policy

Continuing Legal Education
CLE Registration

Certification for
    CLE Ethics Credit

CLE Presentation

Legislative Publications
Legislative Calendar
Legislative Digest
Legislative LDOA
Budget and Finance
Audit Reports
Legislative Reports
Public Hearing

Summary of

  Privacy Policy

Open Public Records Act
Submit an OPRA request

vertical line

Legislative Commissions


Overview of the Commission and its Work

The State House Commission was created in 1953 by the New Jersey Legislature. See P.L.1953, c.85, N.J.S.A. 52:20-1 et seq. The Commission controls the sale and leasing of state owned properties.
Commission Members
The State House Commission shall consist of the Governor, who shall be the presiding officer, the State Treasurer, and the Director of the Division of Budget and Accounting or their designees, or the persons upon whom shall devolve by law the powers, duties and emoluments of said offices respectively, for the time being, and two members of the Senate appointed by the President thereof and two members of the General Assembly appointed by the Speaker thereof, no more than one of either group of two being of the same political party or their alternates. Each alternate for an appointed member shall also be a member of the Senate or General Assembly appointed by the President or Speaker, as appropriate, and shall have full voting powers when required to attend commission meetings. The members of the commission shall serve without pay in connection with all such duties as are prescribed in this chapter. The appointed members of the commission shall serve as members thereof for terms co-extensive with their respective terms as members of the Houses of the Legislature from which they were appointed. Currently the members are:
Governor Philip D. Murphy
Lieutenant Governor Sheila Y. Oliver (first alternate)
Justin Braz, Deputy Chief of Staff for Legislative Affairs (second alternate)
Kate McDonnell, Deputy Chief Counsel (third alternate)
Elizabeth Maher Muoio State Treasurer
Catherine Brennan Deputy State Treasurer, designee
Joann Povia Treasurer's Office Chief of Staff (alternate)
David Ridolfino Acting Director, Office of Management and Budget, Treasury
Senator Bob Smith
Senator Vin Gopal (alternate)
Senator Thomas H. Kean, Jr.
Senator Michael J. Doherty (alternate)
Assemblyman John DiMaio
Assemblyman Paul D. Moriarty
Assemblyman Robert J. Karabinchak (alternate)
Assemblyman Jon M. Bramnick (alternate)
The Commission Staff:
Robert J. Shaughnessy, Jr. (Secretary)    609.292.5535
State House Commission Homepage



  home | back


Document Formats Used on this Siteemail for Legislative infoemail Webmaster
©2018 New Jersey Office of Legislative Services